Diabetes and LC

Options
lsz06773
lsz06773 Posts: 10 Member
I'm not new to diabetes, been type 1 for almost 16 years now. But I recently, after having my second child, decided that I needed to take better care of myself. So in doing some digging around, I came across LC lifestyles. I have been working on counting carbs and calories for almost 2 months now. I started with just trying to keep carbs under 100 grams a day, not subtracting fiber at this time. Since starting that, I feel so much better, my blood sugars have been so much better. I guess what I'm trying to say is I am trying to connect with others that have similarities. Feel free to add me. :)

Replies

• BT_rescuemom
    BT_rescuemom Posts: 284 Member
    Options
    Good for you for taking control of your health! I am not diabetic, but I am insulin resistant and have had gestational diabetes (I know, totally different than T1). It makes so much sense to treat the disease proactively with what you eat instead of reactively with more insulin.

I think the biggest thing is knowing you are an experiment of one, and you have to constantly learn what works for you and what doesn't.

Best of health to you, and welcome to Low Carb life!
  • Sweetiepiestef
    Sweetiepiestef Posts: 344 Member
    Options
    Welcome @Isz06773 :) Glad you are feeling better and congrats on your babies. I also have two kids but my girl is almost 8 (Can't believe how fast it goes) and my son is 6.
  • RalfLott
    RalfLott Posts: 5,036 Member
    edited November 2016
    Options
    lsz06773 wrote: »