LC Questions

Options
kittens2cute
kittens2cute Posts: 68 Member
Hello. I'm new to the LC Game so I have a few questions....first a little bit about me. I'm a carboholic. If there's carbs. I love it. Which is why I feel I need to cut them out. Not 100% because I feel that is pretty impossible for me. But the majority of them. So...in that spirit, here's my question. What do you feel are "acceptable" carbs? For example, my family is having Nachos for dinner tonight (chips, lean ground beef, black beans, veggies, greek yogurt (in place of sour cream), cheese, etc). I was thinking of just cutting the chips out and making it a taco salad. But my question is, do I need to? Are corn chips an acceptable carb? Thank you for any information you can pass onto this LC newbie!

Replies

• tcunbeliever
    tcunbeliever Posts: 8,219 Member
    Options
    What is your goal carb level? I keep mine under 100g which means that YES, corn chips in limited quantities are permitted...pretty much anything is permitted, it's just a matter of how much in any particular day or meal. Anything under 150g/day is considered Low Carb and that is more than enough of a carb limit to fit in corn, potato, and other high carb items, just limited quantities of those items.
  • kpk54
    kpk54 Posts: 4,474 Member
    Options
    It all depends on how low your carb allowance is. I lost weight on the high end of low carb and legumes were a regular part of my diet. Chips, not so much. Now I eat keto for reason other than weight and neither chips nor beans are part of my standard food choices. I'd have a taco salad with meat over salad vegetables with a little: cheese, sour cream, salsa, black olives.

Every now and then I might have a small bite of rice or beans or 1-2 chips for the heck of it. I seem to have no physical food sensitivities/allergies so nothing is totally off limits to me.