Pre-WLS Limbo

Options
Jujub34785
Jujub34785 Posts: 7 Member
edited June 2017 in Social Groups
Hello Everyone! I'm new to the discussion board. I'm currently in "WLS Limbo" lol. Still going to my required doctors visits and prepping for this life change. Is there anyone else out there who intends on having surgery this year? Please add me, it would great to have some extra support along the way. For those of you who are WLS vets...What were some of your goals during your waiting period? I know some of yall had extremely long waiting periods so what did you do to stay focused? Any advice helps. : )

Replies

• jcavanna2
    jcavanna2 Posts: 782 Member
    Options
    I had about 6 months from
    Meeting my nutritionist and surgeon to surgery date. My goal was just to lose or stay the same so that insurance would approve surgery. Lost 37 by the day of surgery and down 84.5 to date. This is a great place to get support and suggestions.
  • Jujub34785
    Options
    jcavanna2 wrote: »
    I had about 6 months from
    Meeting my nutritionist and surgeon to surgery date. My goal was just to lose or stay the same so that insurance would approve surgery. Lost 37 by the day of surgery and down 84.5 to date. This is a great place to get support and suggestions.

That's my biggest focus right now, (or maybe it's a concern). I try to eat right, but it seems that the more real the process becomes the harder it is to focus on what I'm eating and not gain any additional weight. I feel like I'm going to do something wrong even though its probably all in my head.
  • ruqayyahsmum
    ruqayyahsmum Posts: 1,514 Member
    Options
    I waited over 18 months
    I worked on habits like not drinking with meals and on losing some weight to make me easier to operate on (my bmi was 70)

I tried to increase my walking (i could hobble the room with a stick) and made sure to do my physio at least twice a day