Carbs vs Net Carbs

Options
Jessica0982
Jessica0982 Posts: 209 Member
I'm new to keto and I have been struggling with what my actual numbers should be - or as I think they're meant to be called, macros. I've seen various formulas and I think I've gotten a number in mind but then worry maybe it's too low.

With that said, I've also seen conflicting info when it comes to carbs. Do you count carbs or net carbs? Is it a personal preference?

Replies

• Sunny_Bunny_
    Sunny_Bunny_ Posts: 7,140 Member
    Options
    When I was keto I counted total carbs.
    Michael Eades wrote a book called Protein Power in the 70’s. In that book he is the first to introduce the idea of “net carbs”. He intended for people to subtract the fiber from green vegetables only.
    He has been quoted saying that he is disappointed but not surprised how the idea then became popular and applied to sugar alcohols and unnatural added fiber in processed packaged low carb foods.
    It’s your decision. Ultimately do whatever works for you. If you’re interested in applying it the way it was originally introduced, you’ll only subtract fiber that naturally occurs in green vegetables.
  • chinatowninchina
    chinatowninchina Posts: 1,279 Member
    Options
    I'm new to keto and I have been struggling with what my actual numbers should be - or as I think they're meant to be called, macros. I've seen various formulas and I think I've gotten a number in mind but then worry maybe it's too low.

With that said, I've also seen conflicting info when it comes to carbs. Do you count carbs or net carbs? Is it a personal preference?

Partly it depends on where you live. In the UK we generally count Net Carbs because that's how our foods are labeled.
  • downongreenacres
    downongreenacres Posts: 327 Member
    Options
    I have read Peotien Power & did notknow he had since qualified net carbs as basically only relating to natural fibers. It makes sense though. Thanks for the information!
  • Sunny_Bunny_