Thanks for the add

Options
ckdprevent
ckdprevent Posts: 105 Member
I am new to low carb high fat eating. I like the extra fat I am allowed, but don't seem to be meeting my numbers on the fat. I am starting with a moderate low carb ratio and plan to work down to even lower carb gradually. I've already been low salt and low sugar due to kidney stones, now I am looking at carb load in fruits and veges.

I am a 50 year old obese female with hypertension, ckd 2, fatty liver disease, and hyperlipidemia. I am already insulin resistant in my liver. I hope to turn this around. My husband is also obese and prediabetic; he is now looking to make a change to low carb and low glycemic index.

I look forward to the friendship, advice, and info.

Replies

• kpk54
    kpk54 Posts: 4,474 Member
    Options
    Welcome! @Sabine_Stroehm is our resident low/slow glycemic practitioner. I'm sure there must be others too.

Hope y'all bring some low glycemic conversation to the forum. I'm confident weight loss will help shorten the list of ailments. It got me off blood medication quickly. Weight loss via low carb.
  • ckdprevent
    ckdprevent Posts: 105 Member
    Options
    Yes I am working to lose the weight too. They physicians say weight loss and daily exercise is the new prescription.
  • kpk54
    kpk54 Posts: 4,474 Member
    Options
    ckdprevent wrote: »
    Yes I am working to lose the weight too. They physicians say weight loss and daily exercise is the new prescription.

:) I like to look at someone's profile page before replying so saw you have a weight loss goal. Keep the focus. My weight loss approach was moderate carb. I averaged 128 total grams per day.

I think your physician's statement is correct. <3

• WholeFoods4Lyfe
    WholeFoods4Lyfe Posts: 1,518 Member
    Options
    Welcome!