Running while on Keto (?) + Update

Everyonelies
Everyonelies Posts: 225 Member
Hello everyone!

I feel like I have been gone forever and a day! September 24th would have been my 1st keto-versary! I have dropped a total of 50 lbs but since August 16th, I have been up and down 5lbs, especially since I have not stayed Keto compliant for most of the last 2 months.

July 4th I joined a running group, and even though I am a newbie at running, I did not realize how much hungrier I would feel! I did stick to my calories and macros until August but the hunger is still there.

I went full keto today, not expecting any major changes, just don't want to feel the bloat. Weight wise I would like to drop another 20lbs (it's a scale/number thing), but size wise I feel ok, so if I don't lose them, I would be ok, just don't want to gain anything back.

As I mentioned, I got into running, and I know (or think I know) carbs are needed. what are suggestions regarding running/keto/carbs? Those of you who run, do you take in more carbs depending on your runs, or do you find it easy to run on less than 20g net carbs a day?

I am in Chicago, and the weather is starting to get colder, so outdoor runs will probably start to taper down...but any advice is appreciated!

Replies

• AzarielMoon
    AzarielMoon Posts: 36 Member
    Hi. I'm very new to keto, or dieting of any kind. I had someone share this TED talk video on a discussion I'm in, and it might help explain a little about the roll of fat vs carbs as far as glucose and insulin is effected. I don't remember it saying anything about carbs being required for exercising, but I thought it might be a good watch.

Good luck with your goals :)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=da1vvigy5tQ
  • anubis609
    anubis609 Posts: 3,966 Member