requesting: diary review and feedback

sailor789
sailor789 Posts: 33 Member
hi, i'm requesting a diary review, anyone here is welcome.

i am brand new to LC eating, i am not new to using MFP to track my food.

i am trying to blend a low sodium/high potassium WOE with LC eating. i am not able to get my net carbs below 80-100 due to the amount of extra potassium that i need via veggies/low sodium V8. i need to stay below 1500mg sodium and eat minimum of 4700mg potassium daily. i also need high magnesium.

i've been eating a modified DASH WOE for about 6 years d/t a medical condition, but i was putting on weight b/c of added sugars and low-sodium carbs - like salt free chips.

i want to lose weight, i would like to get into ketosis, but not sure if i can with this level of carbs. been doing LC for one week, and i am feeling more satiated than DASH and less cravings for sugary foods.

i am requesting if anyone wants to review what i've done so far and offer feedback knowing what i am dealing with. any other ideas to get carbs lower to allow for ketosis?

this info would be helpful to know as well: i need high magnesium, so i will need to add beans at 1x/week or more - do you think this will limit ketosis? (i do try to get it via seeds and nuts) i do not like any seafood except tuna, so salmon/fish is out for me. i am not a big beef eater, so i limit it to 1x/week. i prefer ground turkey.

thanks in advance for your insights, resources, ideas. i am not sure if what i want is able to be done. :)

Replies

• canadjineh
    canadjineh Posts: 5,396 Member
    Hi @sailor789, how are things going? I'm not a doctor, but maybe you should check with your health provider about the low sodium part of things. Low carber & keto-er folks tend to need more sodium, not less to balance their electrolytes. Also be careful with potassium since larger amounts can cause serious health problems:
    Symptoms of high potassium:
    tiredness or weakness.
    a feeling of numbness or tingling.