Some Strength Training Tips

denitraross
denitraross Posts: 325 Member
I am by no means an expert on strength training, but have picked up some tips online, in dvds, in fitness classes that I figured I would share as I recently sent them to someone (hehe, GO CANDANCE). I strongly believe in the importance of strength training mixed with cardio to bet the best results...if you do not build muscle, your more likely to gain the weight back, you won't look as good, and you can lose so many more inches doing it. Here are the things I have learned so far:

1. Never work the same muscle two days in a row - it needs to rest for one and for two, you should be too sore to work it again - if your not, you didn't work hard enough or use enough weight.
2. You do a big muscle (back, legs, chest) with a smaller muscles (tricep, bicep, shoulders).
3. Do at least 10 reps of each excercise - but you can go up to 15 (you shouldn't be able to do more than 15, if you can, your not using enough weight)..wait 30-45 seconds and do you next set. However, I like to do what is called a superset - that means doing one muscle (biceps) then no rest in between and do another set of another muscle (tricpes) This helps keep you heart rate up and also makes your workout quicker. So you would do say 10 bicep curls, then right to 10 tricep dips, then rest for 30 seconds).
4. Concentrate on the muscle you are working - what I mean is as you do a bicep curl, when you arm gets up and your flexing, think about that muscle and squeeze it. You will get much better definition of you do this.
5. Breathe - this sounds silly but concentrate on taking a breath in as you start and blowing out as your lift - it makes you concentrate on the movement.
6. Try to have a protein shake on the day you lift - it will help with your enery, building the muscle and more important it helps with soreness.