Intros

Options
ItsCasey
ItsCasey Posts: 4,022 Member
My name is Casey. I'm 29 years old, and I live in Austin, TX.

I first learned about kettlebells about 10 years ago when I was a freshman in college. A friend of mine who had recently graduated from college and started putting on weight began using them to get back in shape. But I didn't make kettlebells part of my training until this year. I had been doing standard heavy weight training lifts (squats, deadlifts, lunges, presses, etc.) and wanted to try something different.

I am currently on Week 6 of Master RKC Geoff Neupert's Kettlebell Burn 2.0 for fat loss, and I have made pretty serious strength and fitness gains in a relatively short amount of time. On day 1 of the program, I couldn't do even one Turkish get-up with a 16 kg bell, but by the end of the 4th week, I was doing 24 TGUs with 16 kg in 15 minutes. My current strength goal is to make 24 kg (53 lbs) my go-to working kettlebell for get-ups, which would be close to half my bodyweight.

For ballistic conditioning, I'm focusing on one-handed swings at the moment (20/10 intervals for 10 minutes), alternating between 12 kg and 16 kg. In week 9, I will be adding snatches, which are my favorite KB lift.

I really wish more people knew about or were willing to try kettlebell training for fat loss and strength gains. I'm getting better results in three 45-minute sessions per week than I got when I spent 15 to 20 hours per week in the gym, doing endless cardio and randomized weight-training workouts.

So that's a little about me and why I train with kettlebells.

Replies

• tiamaria8182
    tiamaria8182 Posts: 120 Member
    Options