New here

Options
Hello,

I'm new to myfitnesspal.com and I wanted to introduce myself, and, actually thank you. I have hypoT and have been on 75 MCG for a few years now and found my symptoms never really went away even though my TSH levels were regulated (believe my last test showed 2. something a couple weeks ago).

I just started reading posts on this group about a week ago and was enlightened. I found that you can actually self advocate and ask that they treat your symptoms, not just the numbers. I called and expalained that I am still really struggling with my weight (even though I've been busting my butt at the gym 4 days a week and eating 1200 calories a day), and that I still have hair loss and fatigue. I asked that they increase my strengthy of Levo and the NP said that she would try to go up to 88 MCG and we can retest in a month to see if the levels don't swing too far the other way.

I had no idea I could even ask for that! So, it's been a few days on 88 MCG and of course, I don't see any changes yet, but I'm hoping to in a few weeks.

Thanks for the inspiration ladies. I hope to be a successful member for a long time!

Brenda

Replies

• debbylee22
    debbylee22 Posts: 456 Member
    Options
    Welcome Brenda :flowerforyou:
    I have to agree, this site is very helpful! I have only known I had hypothyroidism for a couple of months now. So it has been invaluable to me too. Some very knowledgeable & experienced people here, who take the time to help us newbies (thank you Terri)!

I am hoping to lower my dose/symptoms by correcting my diet & supplements. I have yet to make it to a natropath, but will. (I tend to only be able to face one situation at a time... taxes are in for-front for me at the moment). But I will make that appointment soon. In the meantime, I have found that virgin coconut oil has really helped my symptoms, as well as got me off of a plateau.

Hope you're feeling better soon!
    Debby
  • tecallahan
    tecallahan Posts: 732 Member