So tell us what you've learned....

Options

Replies

• KarlaYP
    KarlaYP Posts: 4,439 Member
    Options
    I have always had a problem with attention to myself from others and I know I used the weight to hide. My psychologist taught me that by doing that I am giving others power over my life and health. That was a lightbulb moment for me! I am still learning, but try not to let the unwanted attention bother me anymore! It's my power and I've taken it back!
  • Fat4Fuel2
    Fat4Fuel2 Posts: 280 Member
    Options
    What brought you to living healthier?
    I have been on a healthy living quest since my freshman year of high school. I have always been a very active person, and I started varsity sports at that time. I wanted to eat healthy to accompany my training and activity to help me perform the best I could in competition. However, my sophomore year, my dad had a heart attack. This had a huge impact on me for a couple reasons. First, I was taking a life guarding course at the time and we were learning about heart attacks. I told my dad in the days leading up to it that he was showing symptoms of one and should call his doctor. He didn't listen to me. Second, I realized that because I am half of his genetics, I could end up like him if I don't take care of myself. Third, I could lose my dad, and I'm not ready for that. After years of trying to change him, I learned I can't; however, I can change myself. So, that is what I have been trying to do since and will do for the rest of my life to make sure I am healthy.

How did you find LC?