What do you think of Statins (or HMG-CoA reductase inhibitors) for lowering cholesterol?

Options
1299batman
1299batman Posts: 23 Member
edited September 2015 in Social Groups
Statins (or HMG-CoA reductase inhibitors) are a class of cholesterol lowering drugs. There are so many side effects and I have a new doctor who wants me to take this drug. There are tons of side effects. Thanks for your comments.

Replies

• klkarlen
    klkarlen Posts: 4,366 Member
    Options
    I am not a doctor, nurse or in the medical field in any capacity, so this is just my opinion.

Personally, I won't take them. Both my parents have been on them for a long, long time, and both are having cognitive issues, and other side effects. Not a fan of big pharma and making them richer at the expense of our health. I spend a lot of my time taking care of my mother now, and have to run to doctors with her far too often for tests to monitor her liver and kidney function because of the statins.

My personal experience is this, I had a Cardiac catheterization done years ago, my general cholesterol levels are 210, which they have been since the doctors started testing for it, it never changes, and the tests came back all clear. so if you ask me, the numbers do not necessarily mean arterial buildup is present. So, whenever I get that chat with the doctors, I tell them no statins.

I do agree to try other natural treatments, like fish oil, exercise, and diet.
  • 1299batman
    edited September 2015
    Options
    klkarlen wrote: »
    I am not a doctor, nurse or in the medical field in any capacity, so this is just my opinion.