Time for a deficit break?

Options
13»

Replies

• fresh_start59
    fresh_start59 Posts: 590 Member
    Options
    The better news is since the reset I have lost 3% more BF from 25 to 22%. What I have done during this reset is lifting 3-4 times a week with a rest day between lifts and active recovery HR aerobics from mostly walks and 8% incline walks on the treadmill @ 2.5 mph keeping my HR in the recovery zone.
    I am going to take a deficit break in March and eat at TDEE for a week while maintaining my exercise routine.

Down to 22% is awesome! Keep up the great work.
    And it's so good to see yet another post about the benefits of lifting weights. I need to step up my work with the resistance bands if I'm going to have a chance of real lifting in my future.
  • Gapwedge01
    Options
    Just read your story. Congrats! I am new to this...resetting now. I noticed that you stop cardio at times. I know that lots of cardio is pointless and weight lifting is most important, but why do you stop? Someone else mentioned that people don't tend to gain as much during reset when they drop cardio. Why is that? Just wondering if it would help me to take a cardio break. Thanks.

Hi! I guess I should clarify. When I mentioned cutting back cardio I was referring to high HR cardio. I have maintained a HR recovery workout which includes mostly walking.
    You can lose weight with high level cardio-running, insanity, etc, but you also stand the chance of losing some LBM along the way while eating at a large deficit. This winter I have focused on BF lose and body re composition by mostly lifting heavy. This will change somewhat this spring when I begin cycling in earnest. My cardio will increase, but I still will incorporate lifting throughout the summer, but probably not increasing the weight I lift just to maintain my LBM. During my cycling season I will reduce my deficit to 10-15% from 20% again to help maintain my LBM.
  • berthabunny
    berthabunny Posts: 251 Member