New to keto

Options
ldruss1546
ldruss1546 Posts: 12 Member
Hello everyone, today is day one of my keto journey. I am 49yrs old and current weight is 312lbs. Want to get down to 180s. So I have a long way to go! Looking for guidance and direction because im already feeling overwhelmed in what to do\eat. Im a good cook but can't seem to see out of the box in what to make and meal plan. And to complicate things more i battle with server depression so my "get up and go" attitude is hard to come by. All friends, help, direction are welcome . TIA

Replies

• ldruss1546
    ldruss1546 Posts: 12 Member
    Options
    Opps forgot my name is Larry btw
  • shirli2018
    shirli2018 Posts: 74 Member
    Options
    Hi Larry - welcome. I think keeping simple in the beginning is key. Figure out your macros and then eat the amount of protein you need to sustain you lean body mass, add some greens and avocados as your carbs and the fat will be mostly from your protein ( eat chicken legs and thighs with skin or good quality uncured bacon that has 6gr of protein per strips or fatty fish like salmon).
    When still need more fat use grass fed butter and to chicken broth, tea or coffee.
    Also eggs are a good snack especially hard boiled
    That’s something that should be simple enough to get started. To mix it up, I play around with different seasoning and herbs and the oils I use.
  • 0426Jamie
    0426Jamie Posts: 57 Member
    Options
    You can definitely do it! My husband started at your same weight in January and is now under 250! It does take some adjustment to rethink about meal planning. We normally start with a protein and vegetable and go from there. We previously did low calorie and so that taught us portion size control. Now it’s just about staying low carb :)

Good luck!
  • jrmie333
    jrmie333 Posts: 149 Member
    Options
    jheye wrote: »