Options
1235»

Replies

• AnnPT77
    AnnPT77 Posts: 32,853 Member
    Options
    UncleMac wrote: »
    AnnPT77 wrote: »
    Mission accomplished. Here it is, looking more shiny and pristine than it ever will again in its lifetime:

fzv9xhx1n90u.jpg

It's a 2024 Honda CRV Sport Hybrid (AWD).

My car "philosophy", if that's a thing, is to buy new and keep for a long time. I'm no mechanic, so I'm reassured by knowing that what I'm driving hasn't been abused or under-maintained. I'd had the previous car (2009 Toyota RAV4) for about 15 years, and I'd still be driving it - probably for several more years - if I hadn't crunched it, or the insurance company hadn't totaled it. I'm not careful with my cars cosmetically, but am careful about functional maintenance. There's a non-zero chance that this could be my last car ever, if I don't repeat the RAV's early demise.

@mtaratoot, if anything, I think I wore the dealer/sales guy down, or out. :D Once I decided on a make and approximate model, I was pushing for speedy resolution. This morning, I called for a "can we make a deal" appointment, which was at 1PM. By their 6PM close (OK, 6:03), I was driving out in it, though I'll have to go back for a couple of things, like roof rack rails they didn't have in stock. There were a lot of steps in there, given the financing, insurance, rental car, etc.

Also, I'm a very curious woman (probably in multiple senses). I ask very, very many questions, some of them unfair, and apparently some of them . . . statistically unusual? They (sales guy & manager) did try hard to answer, I'll give them that. They were good to work with, not pushy. I went in with the best idea I could get online of how much I might be able to negotiate on this thing that's a very popular vehicle, was assertive, and I feel like I got a decent result. I got little extra, don't know whether I could've gotten more by being a jerk, but I won't do that.