Introduce yourself

Replies

• MONIEMOE2783
    MONIEMOE2783 Posts: 1 Member
    Hi Everyone,
    My name is Mona and I have been struggling with my weight since I gave birth to my son 9 years ago. I gained a whopping 50lbs during my pregnancy and sadly most of that weight has stuck with me since despite going on several fad diets. I experienced a lot of trials and tribulations in 2013 that was a wake-up call for me and so I have decided to make 2014 a better year of course by starting with a new me. I look forward to finding friends who will support and motivate on this journey.
  • astronut96
    astronut96 Posts: 73 Member
    Hello, I am new to MFP but so far I am really liking the tools & community.

I've got about 45 lbs that I need to shed but more importantly I want to get back to being strong & fit. After a lot of hard work I was there up until about 4 years ago. I could spout many reasons for gaining weight back the 50 lbs that I originally lost but there really is no excuse because I knew better.

I eat pretty healthy (other than the wings & beer:ohwell:) but I'm not one that can really lose weight without exercise and in March 2013 I got serious about getting back into the exercise habit. I started doing Jillian Michaels Body Revolution and loved it, but I took much longer than the recommended 12 weeks because of a shoulder that has troubled me for years. I was making slow but good progress when the pain in my shoulder became constant and started interrupting my sleep. Long story (not very) short, I had a 90-95% tear in one of the rotator cuff tendons. I had surgery on July 30, 2013, and had to keep my arm immobile (other than during therapy) for 9 weeks. After 5 months, I just completed official therapy a couple weeks ago and while I still need to be careful I'm so glad to be able to start building strength back.