Evolution

Options

Replies

• macpatti
    macpatti Posts: 4,280 Member
    Options
    Oooh Patti you're getting so good with the quote function I can barely keep up!

I learned from the best!
  • gemco
    gemco Posts: 129
    Options

Maybe to you God has no place in school or state, but that saddens many of us. We can speak about God without trying to convert anyone. We can teach people that by believing in science doesn't mean abandoing religion. Why shouldn't we teach World Religions or Atheism? Wouldn't we raise awareness and respect for people of all beliefs and non-beliefs?

i'm all for religious education in a theoretical way. i loved learning about all the different religions of the world, i'm a history student and religion is a major influence in the course of the world and completely fascinating to me. that's not the same as bringing God into a science lesson to talk about evolution though. i'm alarmed that people even need telling that it's ok to believe in science, but yes you should definitely be telling people that and opening their minds if they're shutting them tight in case they damage their religion.
  • macpatti
    Options
    that's not the same as bringing God into a science lesson to talk about evolution though. i'm alarmed that people even need telling that it's ok to believe in science, but yes you should definitely be telling people that and opening their minds if they're shutting them tight in case they damage their religion.

Not necessarily bringing God into a science discussion, but merely educating students that understanding evolution or big bang theory does not mean "going against" one's religion, and then directing students to discuss this further with their priest, pastor, or whoever oversees their religious education (if anyone). I also believe it's important for religious educators and parents to make sure students understand the same.
  • ninerbuff
    ninerbuff Posts: 48,695 Member
    Options