suicide: do we have a right to death?

Options
1235»

Replies

• glypta
    glypta Posts: 440 Member
    Options

This exactly! I had the same experience with my grandmother. At 99 years of age, she broke both hips and ended up with double pneumonia and congestive heart failure in the hospital. She was begging the doctors to end her life for 3 months, but they couldn't. As her medical power of attorney, I finally chose to remove her fluid IV (which was the only thing sustaining her since she wasn't eating), and let her die of dehydration (this took 3 grueling weeks). It would have been so much more humane to give her an overdose of painkillers.

This puzzles me as well. Why is it alright to remove the thing sustaining life, and allow someone to suffer until they eventually 'die naturally', but not alright to give that same person a humane, dignified and painless death through medical intervention?

I agree with this. I'm a social worker with over 65s and see daily the physical and mental conditions that may lie ahead. I think the decision has to be made in sound mind of course, and to protect ourselves, advanced directives are the way forward for our families/friends/us. Then we know what we/our loved ones want and can uphold their wishes. Again this should be done by us all: what if we're in an accident and paralysed/brain damaged? It's not only the quality of my life, but I'd worry about being a burden on others. And here in the UK if I WANT to die if something were to happen, insurance isn't an issue, so the state pays to 'keep you well' in nursing care or whatever. At huge financial cost and against my wishes?