The Rules

Options
124»

Replies

• Carl01
    Carl01 Posts: 9,370 Member
    Options
    Christine doesn't need counseling. She just needs experience. And the right man. A lot of people are shy and go through the "I could never approach anyone" stage. But when the time and the man are right, it will shock her to see what she is capable of doing.

Yeah I think this is more my situation.
    I'm not really as shy as a lot of you might believe or from what I write. With people I know, I'm a huge goofball. Once I'm introduced to someone, I'm so nice and want to get to know them. I'm preparing for my registered nurse exam, so clearly nurses have to be outgoing and friendly, which I am. I work in customer service right now and I love talking to all the different people. I just think when it's my personal emotions on the line, it's scary. It's scary to put your heart on the line and know it could be broke - I'm sure I'm not the only one that thinks that. I'm sure that as you date more, it gets easier but for someone inexperienced like me, it's scary.

I don't think I need counseling. Just because I have expectations about how a man acts in a relationship doesn't mean anything except that I know what I want in a man. And just because I get upset when I put myself out there and get burned means something is wrong with me? I don't think so.
    Listen,I am not being mean or heartless but a few weeks ago she started a thread where a guy on the third date kissed her on the cheek and she freaked out and literally ran away...I am sorry but that is not a normal action and if we are going to engage in honest discussions those things need to be said.
    Pretending otherwise is not helpful to anyone.

Now that I look back, I am pretty sure that I freaked out because I didn't like him like that and it was uncomfortable. If it was someone I liked, I'm sure it would have been different.