From splasher to swimstar...I hope!

Options

Replies

• Laurochka
    Laurochka Posts: 140 Member
    Options
    So we attempted Butterfly this Sunday. I have NEVER tried this stroke before so I was really excited, a little apprehensive as I'd hear it was pretty difficult, but mostly excited.
    We used fins - another first for me as I've never used fins/flippers before - this really helped and we concentrated on the leg motion. It's certainly hard work! I also found it a little difficult to get my head clear out of the water to breathe correctly , so found that I was pretty much just holding my breath for almost the entire length!
    We gradually added in parts of the arm stroke but only tiny little increments at a time - we didn't attempt the full stroke. All in all I really enjoyed trying something new. I can feel that this stroke is hard work but I also quite liked it!
    We then spent some time at the end doing more breast stroke and practicing submersion in the deep end this time.
    During the week I went twice on my own and am just gradually building up endurance with the breast stroke. I did 30 lengths B/S and 10 lengths F/C on Friday. On Saturday I did 40 lengths B/S and another 10 F/C.
    Breast stroke is really falling into place for me and I feel like I can go on for ages. I am aware that turning each length gives me a wee break so I might try and avoid touching the wall the next few times I go.
    Front crawl is slowly coming together. The breathing is feeling ok I just need to judge how much to inhale/exhale each time so I don't "over breath" I think sometimes I take in too much air and then get out of breath this way. Anyway It's coming together.
    Lxx
  • Macstraw
    Macstraw Posts: 896 Member
    Options