Did you swim today?

Options

Replies

• emmab0902
    emmab0902 Posts: 2,337 Member
    Options
    matthew_b wrote: »
    emmab0902 wrote: »

Wouldn't recommend it. There isn't much evidence that limiting breathing has any benefit other than stroke correction. It doesn't help much with fitness. I ended up with a bad headache a few hours later probably too much CO2 in the blood!

I hadn't put that thought together myself! I bet I'm doing that to myself. I can't get my heart-rate up when swimming. I've heard that some people are that way; I'm swimming hard and I am really having to control my breathing (suppressing the urge to breathe more) and I'm only getting into the 110-130 BPM range.

Several times now I've gotten headaches after swimming.

@matthew_b do you do any sprint work in your sessions? That's the only time mine gets over about 120.
  • rosebarnalice
    rosebarnalice Posts: 3,488 Member
    Options
    1.5 miles ~72 minutes
  • matthew_b
    matthew_b Posts: 137 Member
    Options

Wouldn't recommend it. There isn't much evidence that limiting breathing has any benefit other than stroke correction. It doesn't help much with fitness. I ended up with a bad headache a few hours later probably too much CO2 in the blood!

I hadn't put that thought together myself! I bet I'm doing that to myself. I can't get my heart-rate up when swimming. I've heard that some people are that way; I'm swimming hard and I am really having to control my breathing (suppressing the urge to breathe more) and I'm only getting into the 110-130 BPM range.

@matthew_b do you do any sprint work in your sessions? That's the only time mine gets over about 120.

Sometimes. I wasn't working out for a while and I'm getting back into it for the last month. Right now I'm mainly focusing on getting to where I can go for a mile and not feel like I'm dying by the end. Once that happens I'll start back into some sprints.
  • nuffer
    nuffer Posts: 402 Member
    Options