TDEE & BMR: What they are and what to do with them

Options

Replies

• Annelies11
    Annelies11 Posts: 174 Member
    Options
    Ok I am new to EM2WL... and am willing (but scared!) to give it a try.

I am 5'10, 150lbs, and have 28% body fat. I don't really want to lose pounds, just fat and gain muscle.
    I have been eating 1500 cals/a day for 3 months!!! Haven't seen any changes in my body... no pounds lost, no measurement changes, still have the muffin top and the saddle bags. I do not want to go back to eating 1200 cals a day, which is why I am posting in this group :)

I do pushups/lunges/squats, etc with weights (8lbs per hand) 3x a week for 15 minutes.
    I do HIIT on my stationary bike 3x a week for 15 minutes.
    So this equals 30 minutes 3x/week, which equals an hour and a half a week.

So... I figured that I should enter my activity level as lightly active... IS THIS RIGHT???

With lightly active, my number are as follows:

BMR: 1490
    TDEE: 2050
    TDEE-15%: 1750

Why is my TDEE 500 cals/day higher than my BMR? I don't burn 500 cals/day exercising... I burn that much in a week!
    So basically, I have been eating at my BMR for 3 months.. Is that why I haven't been losing weight?
    Should I eat more?

My other option is to enter my activity level at sedentary, and eat back exercise calories on the days I work out. Then, my number are as follows:

BMR: 1490
    TDEE; 1790
    TDEE-15%: 1520

Since I only work out 3x a week, I could eat 1520 on the days I DON"T work out, and 1700 on the days I DO work out (eating back exercise calories). That is what I have been doing though... and not seeing any changes.

What do you all suggest I do?

Don't eat at a deficit if you want to lose fat and gain muscle.

First, you aren't going to be gaining little if any muscle from that routine.