April Check in & Chat - Spring into the Squat Rack

Replies

• tameko2
    tameko2 Posts: 31,634 Member
    Have you used any of the strength calculators to figure out where you fall? That might be a good indicator of where to head next - I'm heading up on the end of my first cycle, and need to figure it out too, so I'll be interested in your answers!

I used http://www.strstd.com/
    Ee8GMTs.jpg

I don't quite know how to read this, but I'm around Novice on most my lifts, as far as I can tell. I'm kicking around the idea of doing something along the lines of 3x8 and go more for endurance right now. I'm not good at making decisions. :wink:

ETA: I think I'm going to post something in the Eat Train Progress group and see if someone more experienced can steer me in the right direction.

Why endurance? I mean, there are no 'right' answers, just directions that are more-right for you. Do you not like the heavy work?
  • tameko2
    Oh yeah and!

Last 2 days of April. Go look at your goals in the sticky. How did you do?
  • cleotherio
    cleotherio Posts: 712 Member
    Oh yeah and!

Last 2 days of April. Go look at your goals in the sticky. How did you do?

Squat my body weight 145 lbs (current 105)
    Bench 90 (current 75)
    Rows 110 (current 95, but may not increase for a session or two to work on form)
    OHP 85 (current 70)
    DL 175 (current 145)

30 min of Cardio 2-3 times a week consistently; yoga once a week

Drink more water

^^goals

What actually happened:
    Squats: I got up to 135 but didn't feel like I was going all the way parallel, so I went back down to 105 a couple weeks ago. This morning I was back up to 120 and felt much better.
    Bench: completed 5x5 at 95lbs last week. I'll stay with 95 for at least the next workout.
    Rows: I feel strong at 95. I've tried to go up to 100 a few times and I feel like my form falls apart.
    OHP: I've been at 80 for the past two sessions. First time: 55544. this morning: 55344