TDEE & BMR: What they are and what to do with them

Options

Replies

• Labouffecestbon
    Labouffecestbon Posts: 182 Member
    Options
    Sadly, no measurements. I'm still learning what the "good habits" are (measuring, determining BF%, etc.) I wish I had known about it all earlier so that I would have maximized all this sweating. I thought low cal was the way to go b/c by diminishing the supply, my body would be digging through the "fat reserves" and burn it all. I get an F for that way of thinking for sure!

I did take pictures though. At least I got one thing right. I'm one of those people who weigh more than they "look" like, if that makes sense. So I rely mostly on pictures to see a difference (Now I know that measurements are very telling too). In month one, there was considerable change when comparing the pics (waist, thighs). The pics are due for the end of Month 2, which is this Sunday. I'll see then if there has been any change.

After reading more about how our body functions, I'm not surprised that some of that is muscle mass. It irritates me though. I'd say that I've been eating a fair amount of protein. When I was low cal, about 70g on average. Now it averages to 110g.

Why do body improvements have more to do with weight gain?

And you're right that the net cal add isn't enough to net me to my BMR. I'm supposed to be eating 2100 cal. I'm at 2000 AND I nurse my boy (which isn't taken into acct in the 2100 cal). Even at 2000 cal, I can tell I can do more (food wise), that I can push my cal intake higher. Whenever I would increase, I would be satisfied for a couple of days, then my body would ask for more. Instead of listening, I would be like "Hey what the heck, chill out. I'm not gonna eat the whole house!!" Talk about shutting my body down. To be honest, I was just scared that it would turn out to be too much food. *sigh*