Daily Check In Thread

Options

Replies

• ewrook
    ewrook Posts: 90 Member
    Options
    I signed up for Beginner 5K training plan with Runkeeper. My first day is Sunday. I'm excited to begin. I've done C25K programs on my own before, sometimes reaching 5K, sometimes not. I am able to run/walk pretty far but am interested in challenging myself to pace myself better, and run more and walk less. I had really wanted to join an in person program, but my schedule doesn't work with any local programs. Between the Runkeeper app training plan and checking in here, seems like a wonderful substitute! :)
  • joolieb1
    joolieb1 Posts: 140 Member
    Options
    z304 wrote: »
    I'm a c25k beginner... it took 4 weeks of cardio to work up to w1d1 for me.

I did w1d1 last Wednesday, w1d2 (same thing) last Friday, missed Monday and just did w1d3 today (Tuesday). It's doable but I'm struggling with it a fair amount, so I'm thinking I may do two more week 1 runs this week and see if my HR doesn't spike to hell (I'm 29 and my heart rate is going up to 180) after that.

Try running really slowly and focus on breathing in and out deeply and slowly, works for me, breathing and heart rate fine, just my legs hurting!!

Julie
  • Slainte831
    Slainte831 Posts: 125 Member
    Options
    @JreedyJanelle - Congrats on your first 5k! I also tend to get hip pain and stretching has helped a lot, along with being sure I have a proper warm up.

@rebeccatherine - Congratulations - so close!

I downloaded the 10k app this weekend and started with w9d1 yesterday (that's where they have you start if you've graduated from c25k.) It was a 54 minute workout with 4 intervals of run 10 minutes/walk 1 minute. I did the workout outside and had no problem with it! Being outdoors is so enjoyable especially since I've been on the treadmill so much that I enjoyed every minute of the workout.