Oops. Ate the.......

Options

Replies

• T1DCarnivoreRunner
    T1DCarnivoreRunner Posts: 11,502 Member
    Options
    RalfLott wrote: »
    I'm a newbie (3 weeks) but I was told no booze. Alcohol has carbs and your body treats it differently....what gives?? I'm sooooo confused

@midwesterner85 - Can you shed some sober light on @saltysailors ' drunken dilemma?

I can answer that from a BG standpoint - it depends on what alcoholic beverage. Most all beers have carbs, though most hard liquors have less carbs than beer or no carbs at all. Don't even think about the carbs in ciders, and all of the alcoholic beverages with carbs will spike BG (except your body does treat alcohol differently.... see below).

Normally (when sober), a person's liver is releasing small amounts of glycogen to provide BG throughout the day (not just when exercising). Your liver can't multi-task to process alcohol AND release glycogen simultaneously. In fact, it may require glucose to process the alcohol, so some of us diabetics notice a drop in BG even when the alcohol we are consuming has carbs. Personally, I don't get that - my BG will spike if I consume beer, despite that my liver stops releasing glycogen.

The challenge for those of us on insulin, though, is that we have lost our natural ability to deal with hypoglycemia. So when my BG gets too low, it is common to release some glycogen. It may take a long time and I may be low for awhile... I once passed out and had a seizure when I lived alone and was unemployed, so nobody expected me to be anywhere. I ultimately woke up without any help because of a glycogen release. EMT's (or others if available) will sometimes give those who are hypoglycemic and unconscious (i.e. they cannot eat) a shot of glucagon, which will prompt a glycogen dump. That won't work when the patient is processing alcohol.