2 week challenge

Replies

• ChLoE1130
    ChLoE1130 Posts: 1,696 Member
    Ok so I think this is definitely a controversial topic and I am going to admit right away that I am no expert on anything, in fact I am very naive on this topic and I am just trying to learn what works for my body. So I typically eat between 1300 and 1400 calories a day. Everything that I am reading is saying to UP THE CALS. But, here is my issue, with eating as clean as I am and making all my own food and rarely eating anything processed I have a really hard time getting over 1500 unless its bc of wine drinking or eating out and making bad choices.

So my question to you is should I be eating more even though I'm not hungry? Also keep in mind that I am not at my goal weight, I would like to lose at least an additional 8 pounds and then see where I want to go from there. I think the obvious answer to my question is no I should not eat if I'm not hungry....that is how people get overweight in the first place. Sorry about the rant I am just confused.
  • amysj303
    amysj303 Posts: 5,086 Member
    ChLoe, I know what you mean, I have been on a lot of boards that are talking about eating more and I am not trying to lose so I am trying to eat at my TDEE now and because I want to gain muscle I am eating more.
    I think eating clean is great and if you are not hungry that is also a good sign. But there was something on NROLFW and it said you might get used to cals being too low and not get hungry anymore, so there were other ways to tell-like if you get cold after you eat, that is a sign of too low cals.
    I think TDEE minus 15-20% would be ok, you can run the numbers here if you want to see:
    http://www.fitnessfrog.com/calculators/tdee-calculator.html
    the trick, is you include your exercise, so you wouldn't be "eating back" exercise cals since they are already part of the equation.