Chat room - what's on your mind?

Options
1181920212224»

Replies

• AnnPT77
    AnnPT77 Posts: 32,738 Member
    edited April 28
    Options
    Hi all - just popped my head into the group to say hello. I'm conscious my tracking has stalled recently, life seems too busy to spend time entering what I'm eating but still will pop a diary entry in occasionally to ensure my macros and portion sizes are within limits. As I cook from scratch it can be time consuming (esp cooking 2 meals due to my family being meat eaters). Do you all log as you cook, directly onto the app, or do you write it down & log later? I know pre-logging is preferred by many, but I don't meal-prep and can't see this working for my lifestyle (unless I make & log big batches of soup, etc that last for days). The spur-of-the-moment kind of meals I make when I finish work are very much, let's see what's in the fridge and put something together!

My life is simple, because I only cook for myself, but I'm a spontaneous cook, too, often changing my mind about even the whole nature of what I'm cooking as I cook it, like starting a pasta topping, then switching the plan to tostadas before putting pasta in a pot. :D

I note as I cook, on junk mail envelopes or similar paper headed for recycling. Often my phone isn't even in the room.

I've been at this a long time. My intuition is good about where I am in calorie budget when I'm doing an all-at-home day (or even some repeat snacks/meals out). Most commonly I don't even bother to log before the end of the day. If I'm uncertain I might log the day up to that point before dinner, but more often after dinner to see what snack wiggle-room I may have left. (Remember, I'm in maintenance. "Before dinner" was more common while losing, after a small number of months start-up learning.)

Often, the junk mail scribble-logs become backgrounds for mixed media visual journaling. :)