2 week challenge

Replies

• anacsitham5
    anacsitham5 Posts: 810 Member
    My 2 week mini challenge is to workout for 20 minutes each day (at least 4 days a week).
  • Hi! I am 52 and a walker also. I am 4"9 and 102 lbs. Being so small, it's hard to keep weight off. It helps that I am a teacher of 2nd graders and never sit down during the day!! I would like to lose 5 lbs. My sister introduced me to this site a week ago. I love it!
  • jenomaha
    jenomaha Posts: 631 Member
    Welcome to all the new challengers!! Everyone is rockin the challenge so far!!

I am feeling fantastic just from eating better for only 3 days. The scale is already down 4 lbs (granted I'm sure it's water weight) but I'll take it!! If I can lose 4 more in the next 4 1/2 weeks, I will be a happy camper OR if I at least look better in my bikini, I'll be an even happier camper :blushing:

Tomorrow is a rest day and Thursday I return to my trainer, who knows how to kick my *kitten*!!! I'm actually looking forward to it :happy:

Hope everyone is doing well!!
  • amysj303
    amysj303 Posts: 5,086 Member
    Hey, Jen! Have you read what Steve was saying over on the "already lean trying to get leaner" thread? I was thinking of you because I know you teach zumba and, well, I will paste it in here because it might be interesting to other too:
    The industry is such that alarmist soundbites get passed around as fact all the time. It's pretty common nowadays to see "professionals" spouting off about how any form of steady state cardio will cause muscles to fall off. Which is really asinine. That's not how things work.

Granted, taking things to an extreme can pose some problems as building muscle and building endurance are competing goals. You can accomplish both concurrently, but no matter how you slice it, by focusing on both, there's a good chance that neither will be optimized. There's going to be a dilutive effect.