5lb dumbells ok?

Options
suzyy721
suzyy721 Posts: 52 Member
hello. im a beginner.
Can i gain weight if im doing the proper amount of squats,lunges and or other exercises using a set of 5lb dumbells? theyre pretty heavy for me.

My goal is to gain weight. and im eating a lot of calories as well.

Replies

• sammyliftsandeats
    sammyliftsandeats Posts: 2,421 Member
    Options
    They may be heavy now, but what are you going to do for progression?

http://community.myfitnesspal.com/en/discussion/10332083/which-lifting-program-is-the-best-for-you/p1

Have a look at the bodyweight programs in that list. They may be more helpful for you, as no dumbbells are involved and they get more challenging as you get stronger.
  • ndj1979
    ndj1979 Posts: 29,139 Member
    Options
    if you are new to lifting is there a reason that you are starting off with a bulk?

do you know what your current body fat% is?
  • suzyy721
    Options
    i just want to gain weight in the right places , just about 20 lbs. and then maintain it. Im afraid i wont be able to handle a higher dumbbell.
    Thanks for the information!
  • ndj1979
    Options
    suzyy721 wrote: »
    i just want to gain weight in the right places , just about 20 lbs. and then maintain it. Im afraid i wont be able to handle a higher dumbbell.
    Thanks for the information!

is joining a gym an option? If you want to gain 20 pounds you are going to need a structured lifting regimen with progressive overload built in and that revolves around compound movements....
  • suzyy721
    Options
    do you mean my calories being bulk or dumbells ? i have been eating a 2500 calorie diet every day now for a month. and now that i gained about 9 lbs i decided to start working out at home. i havent seen weight gain in the right places, just tummy :( I'm trying to gain weight in the thighs area and arms mainly. Everyone says to work out. Any advice? I'm 5'3, was 102, now 109. Very skinny. Not sure what my BFP is :(
  • suzyy721