Skinny Trying to Gain

Options
I've been lifting now for about 3 months nothing huge but anyways my goal is to be 200 pounds of muscle by the end of this year or next year if possible. So far I've gained 20 pounds of muscle in the past 3 months but I've found myself stuck at this 20 pounds gained. How can I gain more to make my goal more realistic??

Replies

• JB035
    JB035 Posts: 336 Member
    Options
    Welcome to where the work begins! The next 20 won't come anywhere near the first.

With out knowing your lifting program or what you are eating it's pretty hard to tell where you should go to next.
  • usmcmp
    usmcmp Posts: 21,220 Member
    Options
    Newer and young male lifters can gain about 2 pounds of muscle per month, so your 20 pound gain in 3 months was around 6 pounds of muscle and 14 pounds of water/fat. Keep that lean mass gain stat in mind as you gain weight.

This may be a good read for you:
    http://www.leangains.com/2010/12/maximum-muscular-potential.html
  • GDMarch2015
    GDMarch2015 Posts: 6 Member
    Options
    JB035 wrote: »
    With out knowing your lifting program or what you are eating it's pretty hard to tell where you should go to next.

I've been sticking with a protein based diet mostly
  • sabol93
    sabol93 Posts: 1 Member
    Options
    Some general tips... Eat more, train intense (preferably with compound movements), and keep track of your progress in the gym. Not 100% sure, but it may be that your metabolism has caught up to the amount of food you were once eating. Therefore, you may no longer be in as much of a caloric surplus. Without eating more to continue being in a surplus, you will not be able to gain as much muscle.
  • trigden1991
    trigden1991 Posts: 4,658 Member
    Options
    Not being negative but there is no way you have gained 20lbs of muscle in a few months.
  • JB035
    Options
    @trigden1991 how about educate them....??? Hmmm
  • JJS1979
    JJS1979 Posts: 177 Member
    Options