Gaining lean muscle mass

Options
Hello everyone :) I'm new to this app. can anyone give me some advice on some cheapsih foods which would assist me with gaining lean muscle mass? I train kickboxing
every week, any exercise or food recommendations on gaining some lean weight would be much appreciated!

Replies

• stanmann571
    stanmann571 Posts: 5,728 Member
    Options
    mickowp wrote: »
    Hello everyone :) I'm new to this app. can anyone give me some advice on some cheapsih foods which would assist me with gaining lean muscle mass? I train kickboxing
    every week, any exercise or food recommendations on gaining some lean weight would be much appreciated!

Food won't give you lean muscle mass... neither will kickboxing.... A good systematic lifting program is what you're looking for.

Stronglifts is popular...
  • tomwasilj3w
    tomwasilj3w Posts: 186 Member
    Options
    Find out how much calories you need to eat a day in order to maintain and then calculate how much more calories you need to eat in order to gain and the rate you'd like to.

This article will explain how to do that
    http://www.predatornutrition.com/articlesdetail?cid=bulking-plan-for-the-hard-gainer

Now when you do start eatting try to eat lean meals. Chicken breast, steaks, salmon, with a side of brown rice, wheat bread, etc. Whenever bulking it's normal to go up in body fat percentage as well. But set a desired goal to reach and then switch to your cutting phase when you get there.

And you have to do more weight training to help gain mass. Kickboxing is good for burning calories, you might tone up a bit, but you won't really look like a Olympic gymnast or bodybuilder
  • mickowp
    mickowp Posts: 2 Member
    Options
    thanks for the advice guys!
  • Chieflrg
    Chieflrg Posts: 9,097 Member
    Options
    If your looking for just mass look into a hypertrophy program and eat anywhere from a extremely small deficit to a small surplus.