Now What?

Options
In March I was 215lbs and a waist 38". I am now down to 168lbs and a 32/34" waist. 47lbs later I'm now at goal and thinking, now what? I've reached my target through reducing my calories to 1660 and sticking to the religiously, aside from maybe 1 cheat weekend a month which has actually been a great help. I run with a club so do about 40km a week and burn off around 3200 - 400kcal per week running. I'm also a teacher and spend most of the da on my feet on-the-go. So fairly active. Obviously the summer break is coming up so I won't be as active but will portly run more.

I just don't know where to go from here, I don't want to lose anymore, which I can't seem to help doing. I thought about upping calories but I'm worried suddenly upping will resulting weight gain?

Any advice is great!

For reference:
current MFP Target: 1660 (-2lbs p/w)
-1.5/lbs = 1750 p/w
-1lbs = 2130 p/w
-0.5lbs = 2300 p/w
Maintain = 2540 p/w

Replies

• janeinspain
    janeinspain Posts: 173 Member
    Options
    First of all, congratulations! You've done an amazing thing!

Now, to answer your question, from what I've read here and there, ideally you should up 100-150cals and keep the new number for a week or two, then increase again and maintain another couple of weeks, until you reach the point where you don't lose anymore. It's better not to jump straight to maintenance, but ease into it.
  • livingleanlivingclean
    livingleanlivingclean Posts: 11,752 Member
    Options
    Congrats on reaching your goal!
    If you keep eating in a deficit, you're going to keep losing though .... Surely the thought of more food is appealing to you? I would never say no to more calories!