Supplements to increase appetite?

Options
I have been working out with a trainer to gain muscle for the past 2 1/2 months. I started at 120. I've lost 4 pounds of fat and gained a little bit of muscle. I'm just concerned that I'm not moving faster because I'm not getting my calories... which also makes me really cranky all the time. I don't have an appetite unless it's been hours since my last meal.

When I started working out I cleaned up my eating a lot which meant that I was full on 800 calories per day and of course really bad for me.
I've added rice, white bread, and pasta back on to my diet, but even then I'm not hitting my 2200 cal/day because like I said I have no appetite and I get full really fast.
So... back to my question any supplements that stimulate your appetite? I see a few things online but I'm not sure how good they are.

( also... I know the kind of diet I need. I have to eat snacks, shakes and all that... pack 100 grams of protein...I try! But I can't physically eat that much food if I'm never hungry.) When I was a kid I was given a syrup that made me hungry but I can't remember what was on it.

Replies

• psuLemon
    psuLemon Posts: 38,394 MFP Moderator
    Options
    http://community.myfitnesspal.com/en/discussion/10326769/are-you-a-hard-gainer-please-read/p1

I wouldn't bother with a stimulant because you will need to learn how to eat or you will lose all your gains. Add in some calorie dense foods and drinks: fairlife chocolate milk is my current favorite.
  • Nat_cb
    Nat_cb Posts: 5 Member
    Options
    Hi! I see what you mean and it's a good point. I read that thread before I posted, but my frustration is that I do have access to all those foods, but not having an appetite makes it really hard to eat a reasonable amount of them.It's frustrating.
  • psuLemon
    Options
    Generally, exercise is a stimulant. For some its cardio and others heavy lifting.
  • psuLemon
    Options