agave not so awesome

Options
2»

Replies

• zrmac804
    zrmac804 Posts: 369 Member
    Options
    so, I'm a scientist. I'm also someone who has never tried agave stuff, nor do I intend to. BUT, I cannot find any scientific claims supporting these articles. The articles reference a small study on bees. Bees. Humans aren't bees.

I think folks should stick to scientific articles that have a large number of human samples. Double blind studies even better. These types of articles fall in line with the raw milk vs pasturized milk fights or veggie eaters vs meat eaters. In other words, "agave is good. No, wait, agave is bad.......no, I mean, agave is good here, but not here"...etc, etc....

catch my drift?

Haha, I hear you! I have the same gripe about research on organic foods!
  • FatStoatLondon
    FatStoatLondon Posts: 197 Member
    Options
    It also tastes like carpet glue.
  • sweetchildomine
    sweetchildomine Posts: 872 Member
    Options
    BUT DR.OZ SAID THAT I SHOULD USE IT!!!!

lol...
  • unsuspectingfish
    unsuspectingfish Posts: 1,176 Member
    Options
    I just don't like the taste, and it's one of the many, many sweeteners, both natural and artificial, that makes me feel sick even in small amounts.
  • Elleinnz
    Elleinnz Posts: 1,661 Member
    Options
    Yep - the agave is healthy myth being busted ;-) Here is another article posted in one of my other groups

http://butterbeliever.com/2011/11/04/is-agave-nectar-a-healthy-sweetener/
  • makemewannadie
    makemewannadie Posts: 401 Member
    Options
    This article makes unscientific comparisons and then draws unfounded conclusions from those initial comparisons. I wouldn't put any stock in it.

Indeed... still an interesting read, as a vegan I don't eat honey, so i'll still have my agave every rare occasion!
  • lucykg1980
    Options
    Oh gawds.