How did I get to 347lbs? Day One.

Options
I am New to My Fitness Pal. I logged my weight and measurements today and am just in tears.

I have ignored full length mirrors and pictures for so long. The level of denial has just been paralyzing
Until I went to see my mom last week. I have not seen her in years (for various reasons).
I saw my future when I looked at her. She last weighed in November at 536lbs, she is in a wheelchair because all the cartlidge in her knees are gone, and she has no bladder control. Her circulation is SO poor that she has large sores on her legs, and is looking at getting another pacemaker surgery. My mom is only 59yrs old.
I want a better quality of life for myself than that.
I am a really good starter, but my follow through on this topic has been extremly poor over the years.
I looked at my cabinets last night and just stared at the bags & boxes of comfort food. I got angry and started pitching the crap.
I am sure my husband and cat thought I was mental! LOL Although they are both very supportive and loving. My cat even came and cuddled with me last night as I layed in bed praying for the strength to change.

I hope and PRAY that this is the mental change I need to do the WORK that this will take. I have not always been this overweight, and I have done it with exercise and eating right before. I noticed the increasing weight gain when I stopped drinking alcohol 12 years ago. I realize now that I replaced the alcohol with food, sugar and starchy food.
Quick fixes and instant gratifications will not work here, it will commitment, exercise, change, and looking in the mirror!

I don't know if anyone will read this, but I am just so sad, angry, tearful, and hopeful and wanted to see if anyone out there has felt the same?
Can anyone relate?

Replies

• Phoenix_Rising
    Phoenix_Rising Posts: 11,417 Member
    Options