Strength training advice for a complete beginner - help!

Options
I'm 5'3" and 137lbs looking to get down to 130lbs.

At the moment I'm running practically every day, on the last few runs of C25K. I have noticed a difference in how I look from this and have lost a couple of pounds, but obviously the closer I get to goal the harder it is.

The advice given to people in my position on the forums is always to incorporate some kind of strength training/lifting, but I really do not have a clue where to start. I am pretty weak and have only used Barbie sized weights before so the idea of lifting is a bit scary to me! Does anybody have any good links for total beginners/any advice that might help me out. Success stories would be great too!

Saw this link in another thread - http://www.nerdfitness.com/blog/2009/12/09/beginner-body-weight-workout-burn-fat-build-muscle/ - is this the sort of thing I should be doing? I was doing Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred before I started running but with my Barbie weights, so I'm tempted to think doing lunges and push ups isn't 'enough'. Is this sort of stuff going to make a difference or do I need to be lifting?

Thanks in advance, lovely helpful MFPers! x

Replies

• themommie
    themommie Posts: 5,006 Member
    Options
    New rules of lifting for woman or the big book of exercise for woman is really helpful when it comes to starting out lifting
  • chuckyp
    chuckyp Posts: 693 Member
    Options
    Stronglifts 5x5 caters to the new weightlifter. www.stronglifts.com
    You just need access to an olympic weight set, a power rack (or spotters), and a bench.
  • newmrswood
    newmrswood Posts: 194
    Options