If exercising a lot, how do you get the calories in?

Options
Hi, I'm new here and in a big learning curve. It's summer so I have a lot of time to be outdoors. This morning I worked out, then went for a bike ride and tonight will play tennis. I have not had dinner yet, but with the exercise logged in, it says I have :
Remaining calories: 1840
Carbs: 225
Fat:66
Protein: 66
Sugar: 22

How can I hope to take in 1840 calories ? I was going to make a shake when I come home after tennis, but that will come no where near the suggested amount. So the question is, how do you get enough calories in with a lot of exercise, and.".,without going over sugar?

Many thanks!
Cal

Replies

• pastryari
    pastryari Posts: 8,646 Member
    Options
    Eat foods that are more calorie dense.
  • ksmilgirl2010
    Options
    I would try increasing your protiens, i'm not good at cutting sugar- mine is always way over right now
  • Izzyrb1234
    Options
    Oh, thanks....just googled calorie dense.....rice, beans...will continue to look into it...tnx again..
  • Izzyrb1234
    Options
    I agree ...sugars are hard to keep out!
  • rose313
    rose313 Posts: 1,146 Member
    Options
    Peanut butter, avocado, eggs, nuts. The ones that are high in fat are high in good fats.
  • JesterMFP
    JesterMFP Posts: 3,596 Member
    Options
    Peanut butter, avocado, eggs, nuts. The ones that are high in fat are high in good fats.
    ^ This. Also, full-fat versions of things you might usually have low-fat or fat-free.

If you're going to be this active on a regular basis, you could always cut out the "workout" on days that you have other activities like bike riding and tennis.
  • steph1278
    steph1278 Posts: 483 Member
    Options
    If you are basing your calorie burns solely off of MFP, be aware that they tend to run high. Unless you are using a HRM to determine your burn, I wouldn't eat all of them back.
  • Brandicaloriecountess
    Brandicaloriecountess Posts: 2,126 Member
    Options