Food shopping!

Options
Going to get some shopping done in a little bit. Since I'm new to this whole diet thing. What are some necessary foods that I should get? Obviously, veggies and fruit, but what are some specific!

Replies

• JDUR19
    JDUR19 Posts: 60 Member
    Options
    Going to get some shopping done in a little bit. Since I'm new to this whole diet thing. What are some necessary foods that I should get? Obviously, veggies and fruit, but what are some specific!

I find bags of iceberg lettuce are a filling and tasty way to snack with extremely low calories!
  • slim104
    slim104 Posts: 160
    Options
    Chicken, chicken, more chicken, tuna, cottage cheese, laughing cow cheese triangles.
  • Bexxi420
    Options
    Actually you are best off buying other types of lettuce. They are all low calories but iceberg lettuce actually has next to nothing in nutritional value. Go for romaine lettuce instead or spinach!
  • kaseysospacey
    kaseysospacey Posts: 499 Member
    Options
    While veggies are a must, try to find satisfying protein sources for you. Protein is what is really going to make you feel satisfied. Also, you will probably want something bread-y. Try to get the most for your calories. You need fiber, whole grains, avoid "diet" foods that are still high in sugar, fillers,etc. I like beans, filling with protein and fiber.
  • Gidzmo
    Gidzmo Posts: 904 Member
    Options

Let's see...if you're going to get some bread, look for 'whole-grain' on the label (and read the ingredients). 'Whole-grain' simply means that the wheat wasn't processed to death before it became bread.

Milk--lowfat or nonfat.

Meat--if you get the poultry, have the skin removed (loads of fat). Have the fat trimmed from any beef you buy. But do look at fish (such as salmon) for the omega-3s (watch what the tuna's packed in).

Produce: if you buy canned fruits, go for light syrup. Raw always beats out processed.