Any other night shift-ers out there?

Options
So I've begun this weight loss journey before (many times), and most times seem to give up after a week or so and just go back to my old eating habits, but I'm incredibly determined this go around.

SO I'm only 10 days in at this point but I'm finding that my work schedule is going to be a challenge.

I'm a nurse, I work 12 hour night shifts from 7pm to 7am.

I'm finding that it is incredibly hard to find balance between on and off days with my food intake. If i'm working days back to back I have a hard time getting in the calories that I need and there's not a lot of time between working and sleeping to prepare food, pack my lunch, etc. If its the first night back to work I'm usually awake a good part of the day and then go to work and am awake for 20+ hours and I don't know if i should count my calories from midnight to midnight or from when I wake up to when I go to bed.

Just wondering if anyone else out there works night shift or has any words of wisdom? Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Amy

Replies

• kiwikuchenvogel
    Options
    Hey, I have the same problem working nights and it can be very challenging to adjust my night work with getting some sleep and training, not to mention on my off days a totally diff. rhythm kicks in.
    Here is how I count calories,on the first day of work I stand up at 7 or 8 ( can't sleep in when I didn't work the night before) then I eat breakfast and go all day how a normal day would be besides that right before work I eat a bigger portion then I would when I have off.
    I can't eat at night so this will be pretty much my last source of food till the next day ( sometimes I take a little snack like a granola bar for the half an hour break ) next morning I bike home ( so first training session is done) I also am not hungry after work so I just go to bed. Wake up eat breakfast ( I sleep around 5 hours ) 2nd training session then lunch then dinner again right before work.