danikiz
danikiz Posts: 12 Member
How do you do it? Please assist.

Replies

• sarahrbraun
    sarahrbraun Posts: 2,261 Member
    Options
    How do you do it? Please assist.

it is impossible to 100% give up carbs--unless you are going to eat nothing but meat and fat--but it is totally possible to reduce them drastically.

I have been eating lowER carb for 3 months now, and will probably continue to do so for another 3 months...

For breakfast I eat 2 eggs, 2 slices of soy bacon...then sometimes 1/2 cup full fat cottage cheese, and up to 1 cup of blackberries.

For lunch I eat a huge salad--romaine, cucumbers, cheese, 2-4oz of shaved turkey...sometimes up to 1/2 an avocado.

For dinner I eat a portion of whatever I make for the family--the other night I had oven baked chicken and green beans. Another night I had chicken sausage and hash browns...

Because my goal is to eat ~100g net ( total carbs minus fiber) you will see that I have things like mini ice cream bars or frozen fruit popsicles in my diary--it is HOT here, and I don't want to sit here and watch the rest of the family get treats and not have one myself. It's all about fitting in enough treats that you don't feel deprived...
  • rocknrollcliche
    Options
    Hi guys,

I am quite new to the message board side of things here but thought id give it a shot. Im needing help with a carb issue also. Im conditioned to wanting potatoes or pasta etc with every meal. Eg: chicken breast, salad and i feel i NEED a jacket potato or something similar. Does anyone have any ideas of what to replace this with? Just salad/meat on its own doesnt seem to be filling enough. Same with pasta, bread etc. Always want carbs but i struggle to find things to replace them. Sick of eating salad for lunch every day! Thanks :)
  • yarwell
    yarwell Posts: 10,477 Member
    Options
    just have two portions of vegetables with the meat, and no potato / pasta. Salad is too watery for me too, with little nutrient content.