New to Lifting - Supplement Questions

Options
jennt_22
jennt_22 Posts: 155 Member
Hey All :)

I am going to start lifting in a few days and I am going to do Jamie Eason’s Live Fit Trainer (bodybuilding.com). She recommends taking these supplements:

- Optimum Opti-Women
- Optimum BCAA 1000 Caps
- MRM Smart Blend
- MRM All Natural Whey

I have a few questions… (Probably will seem dumb but please be nice, I’m new to this!)

First, the Opti-Women… would another generic brand work for this or is the Opti better? I ask because right now I have a bottle of generic ShopRite Women’s Multi-Vitamin… I am a poor college student lol and I’d rather not spend the money on the Opti if the ones I already have are super similar and will do the same thing. It says the Opti is ‘more than just a multi’ so I wasn’t sure if it is worth it to get it or that’s just them marketing their product?

Second, the BCAA and the Whey… could this be any (maybe a cheaper?) brand of these products or are Optimum and MRM the very best?
Also for the BCAAs…. what is the difference (is there one?) for pill form vs. powder form?

Lastly the MRM Smart Blend… would a Fish Oil pill do the trick here or is the Smart Blend a lot more?

Any help/tips/advice/suggestions on what supplements I should be taking while lifting (or are supplements are a waste of money/don’t help?) would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

Replies

• auroranflash
    auroranflash Posts: 3,569 Member
    Options
    I'm no pro, but most times when someone suggests supplements, it's because they endorse them or are getting a kickback in some way. As long as you're taking a multi and your fish oil and getting enough protein, you should be fine without them. If you have joint problems, you can also take a glucosamine/chondroitin, some people say it works wonders, others say it doesn't do much. I was recommended it by a chiropractor once after a back injury.

Best of luck.
  • rmhand
    rmhand Posts: 1,067 Member
    Options