protien shakes

Options
My doctor has recommended I drink a protien shake everyday. I'm still fairly new to all this, what does everyone recommend that can be purchased pretty much anywhere? If i buy whey protien(which has been suggested) what do you mix it with?:smile:

Replies

• DappledPalomino
    Options
    I drink the "Lean Body - Vanilla Icecream" protein shake for breakfast every morning. I don't have the exact breakdown but it goes something like this:

Calories: 180
    Fat: 7
    Carbs: 5
    Sugar: 0

It's my favorite protein shake that is easily purchased (walmart carries them). VPX cookies in cream is awesome, 40g protein, but is hard to find here. I've tried muscle milk, atkins, EAS and don't care for them (powdered or premade).

Since I've started my protein shakes/bars, I've felt so much more energized! I don't feel weighed down and after a few days of using them, that ebbing hunger (especially while dieting) goes away!

Good luck!
  • terri1020
    Options
    I'm getting ready for my VSG surgery next week. I LOVE Unjury chocolate. I buy it online. 20 g of protein.
  • ars1300
    ars1300 Posts: 159 Member
    Options
    You can keep it basic by mixing with milk or water. You can always add things to changed it up such as fruit. Im not a fan of the store brands. Some of my favorites are cytosport whey isolate, which has low sugar/carb. Also Syntha6 , mochachino flavor and strawberry milkshake is awesome. I would say many of the better quality tast much better than what you can pick up at walmart. Its worth it to me to spend a little more if it tastes so much better! I buy online bodysbestsupplements.com or bodybuilding.com.
  • Tedebearduff
    Tedebearduff Posts: 1,155 Member
    Options
    I mix mine with water and it's from Costco and is like $49.99 for a 5lb container.

http://www.kaizenprotein.com/nutrition.html