How often should I weigh myself and at what time of day

Options
I know some people may find this question quite juvenile, but I am really new to this. How often should I weigh in and what is the best time of day to get a consistent figure?

Replies

• RunningMatt77
    RunningMatt77 Posts: 162 Member
    Options
    Weight in every Two weeks only, some people weight themselves to soon and lose motivation. weight in either on saturday or sunday, I find early morning empty stomach works best for me.
  • tara_seay
    tara_seay Posts: 171 Member
    Options
    I weigh in every Monday morning. I like to see the progress every week, and it keeps me on track.
  • MrsPixelbark
    MrsPixelbark Posts: 175 Member
    Options
    I weigh in once a week first thing on a Saturday morning. Honestly, it doesn't matter when you weigh yourself as long as you weigh yourself at the same time (and try to keep it under the same circumstances- so for example I always weigh myself after going to the loo first thing) every time.

I'd be tempted to keep it to just once a week/once every two weeks otherwise you may become a touch obsessed about the numbers! Don't forget to get a tape measure out and measure yourself too: if you do a lot of exercise you'll be surprised how the inches can fall off even if the scales aren't showing dramatic results.
  • BrianSharpe
    BrianSharpe Posts: 9,248 Member
    Options
    I'd suggest not more than once a week, every couple of weeks would probably be fine.

First thing in the morning (on the same day; eg every 2nd Monday ) after you've gone to the bathroom.

Assuming that you're also adding a fitness element to your program you should also consider taking measurements periodically. The number on the scale never tells the whole story.
  • Takarameri
    Takarameri Posts: 152 Member
    Options