1200 too low?

Options
Hi all,

I'm new here. I am new to weight loss in general.

My backstory: I was skinny my whole life literally until about 3 months ago. I am on some anti-depressents (prozac, gabapentin and hydroxyzine) which had slowed my metabolism to next to nothing and I went from 120 to 130 during the start of this year without any diet change. But then I went from being 130 to 160 in under 3 months when I started a new medication (buspirone). I was eating slightly more but not that much.

I model (well, I did until this all happened) so not only is this weight gain bad for my health and making me depressed, it's also costing me jobs.

A friend recommended this site to me. I'm 5'4 and I put in my starting weight at 157 because I literally fluctuate between 154 and 159 throughout the day. This site set me at 1200 calorie a day diet which I am finding is extremely hard for me to do. Even with cutting out snacks and eating very small portions, I seem to go over every day, even when I walk a lot. I have been more tired this week than I have been in a long time and I find that I am always slightly hungry.

I want to get back to 120 and I want to do it before my anniversary on Oct 31. My weight gain has also had some pretty negative effects on my marriage. I have started weaning myself off of the medication and following a diet and walking more. I've been at it for a week. I've started weighing myself in the AM only and find that it's consistently 153.6 so I adjusted my weight on here yesterday. Then I completed my diary for the day. I had a net of 1497 calories and it said it will take me 5 weeks to even get to 151.4 if I keep up like that.

5 weeks to lose 2.2 lbs?? That seems off. Or am I just extremely unrealistic?

Replies

• beckajw
    beckajw Posts: 1,738 Member
    Options