What walks do you track? What do I put in?

Options
I work as a Sales Manager and therefore walk throughout the day, but I also do a lot of just standing. I don't think I'm sedentary, I think I"m lightly active. Here is my question, how much walking does the app assume I walk each day depending on my selection sedentary vs lightly active?

How does MyFitnessPal calculate sedentary/light active with respect to calories allowed? I changed it and my allowed calorie intake does not change at all.

Also, am I supposed to log everything? Example, I know everyone walks a little bit through the course of normal everyday activity. How many minutes does each one give me as a buffer, so I don't count walking at work as double, etc? I don't want to log all my walks if it already assumes I walk x amount of minutes per day, what is the best way to manage this?

Replies

• 4skylarandmia
    Options
    Hi there, I use a pedometer and I find that very useful, it gives you how many steps you take a day and how many moderate steps, plus calories used, and minutes walked at a moderate pace. I wear mine all day. I walk at a brisk to very brisk pace at least for about an hour a day. You go to exercise and click on cardio. Good luck I hope this helped.
  • saraann4
    saraann4 Posts: 1,312 Member
    Options
    I would log anything you do outside of working. You do that on a daily basis. If I go for a nice stroll with the dog, I don't log it. If I'm doing it with some feeling and it's longer than 20 minutes, I'll log it. The only thing is I don't really pay attention to the calorie burn on MFP as they overestimate. I just put it in for myself to know I did something that day. That's just my two cents. Probably wrong, maybe right.
  • meshashesha2012
    meshashesha2012 Posts: 8,326 Member
    Options