RE: Fat % of Daily Calories

Options
Hi everyone. I've been doing MFP for about two months and have been doing the P90X challenge. I've lost about 15 lbs and some inches...so you could say I've had success.

My question though, I find it tough to be around my calories without going over on either fat or carbs. I think I'm set at 20 % fat and 40% carb and 40% protein. My daily goal for calories is 1700 and I aim at eating some of my exercise calories if I'm hungry. If you check my diary, I've had a few BAD days and I'll admit it. I also allow myself a serving of dark chocolate m/ms the past week each night...I know not good, but let's just say it's that TOM. LOL!

I'm speaking that I go over on "fat" and carbs when I'm even making SMART choices. Is that bad, say if I'm eating peanut butter or 14 almonds, or any "good fats"...in a reasonable serving that is?

I want to keep having results whether its a weight loss on the scale or an inch or 2 here or there.

Thanks for your comments!

Replies

• ShaneOSX
    ShaneOSX Posts: 198
    Options
    Good fat, especially Omega 3, will actually help you lose weight.

Fat being 20-30% of your daily caloric goal is a good place to be, with 25% being ideal. Of that, you want none of it to be trans and as little as possible to be saturated.

I've come to feel that the macronutrient ratio is almost as important as the calorie count itself. On an ideal day I aim for 55% protein, 25% fat, and the rest leftover for carbs.

Unlike protein and good fat, you do need to eat carbs to live, and while good carbs have some value, I make it one of my primary goals to cut them as much as possible. Personally I would rather go over on fat than carbs, assuming the fat was good fat.
  • faithchange
    faithchange Posts: 311 Member
    Options
    I just never see how its possible eating that much 1700 calories without going over on fat and carbs when they're so low...if that makes sense.

I had the bad fat today...of course go figure.