Binge Cravings

Options
Hi folks.
I hope you can help me. I have been doing so well for the last two months, eating right and exercising and seeing steady reductions in my mass, girth and steady increases in strength and stamina, self control and self-discipline.

When I quit smoking, I did it cold-turkey. Never again. Not one.

I am a binge-eater. I eat emotionally and for boredom. Right at this particular moment, I'm struggling with an urge to find some rubbish and eat it. I didn't have the most awesome day and I'm now home alone with nothing particular to do. I've already spent ages looking for the lid of the popcorn maker, only to decide I don't actually want any. I opened a packet of Shapes, ate 3 and threw the rest out because I don't actually want them. WHAT IS WRONG WITH ME? Why do I think I want this stuff? Why do I feel like eating when I know I'm full? I had a lovely dinner and I'm not actually hungry, but damn I'd love a bowl of M&Ms right now.

The problem I'm having is the need to eat. If I could, I'd quit and never do it again, so that I never had to deal with it again. All or nothing. How do I find that balance?

Replies

• wgn4166
    wgn4166 Posts: 771 Member
    Options
    I don't have "bad" snacks in my house any more. When I get the munchies, I try to eat almonds, cashews, or fruit.
  • kittenmcgowan
    kittenmcgowan Posts: 83 Member
    Options
    I have a few for my teenage brother who I am living with. I don't tend to eat them, because I don't actually like them. But damn I like chocolate and I'd LOVE some right now! Of course, I'm not going to have any, but I wish I could kill the cravings, because I know if I allowed myself, I could just sit and eat and eat and eat.
  • MarianneDarroch
    MarianneDarroch Posts: 71 Member
    Options
    I sometimes struggle with binge cravings and like you once I start that's it!