Can you gain muscle and lose fat at the same time?

Options
I'm looking to lose about 10 more lbs. I started ChaLean Extreme yesterday. I've heard that you can't build muscle while eating at a deficit. I've seen impressive transformations with programs like CE and P90X. How are these people changing their bodies so much if you can't build muscle while eating at a deficit? I'm honestly not trying to sound rude. :) I'm still a noob in the fitness world on some things and would like for someone to explain this to me.

Replies

• Pedal_Pusher
    Pedal_Pusher Posts: 1,166 Member
    Options
    i bet you can
  • xxvogue
    xxvogue Posts: 172 Member
    Options
    Most people who lose weight gain muscle along the way. I think it's 100% possible. Just make sure you're getting enough food.
  • shabaity
    shabaity Posts: 791 Member
    Options
    yep so long as your eating and exercising right
  • jdholland5508
    jdholland5508 Posts: 162 Member
    Options
    If you are a begginer to strength training it is very possible if you keep your protien level high, around 1g per lean body weight in lbs. However if you are already into strenght training it is nearly impossible to gain muscle and lose fat.
  • AsellusReborn
    AsellusReborn Posts: 1,112 Member
    Options
    You can make minor gains but for the most part your body just doesn't biologically work that way - it isn't going to break into its reserves and build new tissues in a deficit, why would it? The awesome transformations you see are the muscles that are already there becoming nice and defined because the layer of fat on top of them goes away.

Edit: Reading responses, it's worth noting that making strength gains doesn't necessarily mean muscle gains.
  • wayned22
    wayned22 Posts: 10
    Options