Ouch! My foot.

Options
WTBSE
WTBSE Posts: 72 Member
I have recently started the C25K and all has been going fine, no problems.

However, all day today i have had some pain in my left ankle, and this evening its getting worse. i am just wondering if this is normal for someone who has never run before, and if my running technique is wrong or anything that you guys could pinpoint for me?

Replies

• rowbseat13
    rowbseat13 Posts: 147 Member
    Options
    How far into C25K are you? It's definitely not rare for a runner, especially a new one, to get some pains in the joints. I've been running for two years, and when I increase my mileage or take a couple weeks off, my knee and achilles ache. Sometimes it's bad enough to keep me from running, sometimes it's not.

The best thing you can do is ice it for about 15 minutes every hour. It can be hard to ice an ankle, but if you fill a ziplock bag with 3 parts water to 1 part rubbing alcohol, it will get very, very cold, but not freeze solid. That way you can sort of "wrap" it around your ankle. It might take a couple days, but it should feel better as long as it's not some sort of stress fracture or other issue.

I doubt it's your technique -- probably just overuse or not warming up/cooling off enough. Definitely add some stretches and ankle rolls post-run. Also, it could have a lot to do with your shoes.
  • secretlobster
    secretlobster Posts: 3,566 Member
    Options
    Yeah, definitely ice it like rowbseat suggests. Stay off of it if it hurts... If the pain doesn't go away in a day or two, I would get it looked at, just to make sure it's not a fracture.

Did the pain start during a run? Or the day after?
  • WTBSE
    Options
    i am only at the end of week 1.
    Thanks for the advice re the ice pack :)
    Hopefully it wont stop me running though, i dont think it will.
  • Articeluvsmemphis
    Articeluvsmemphis Posts: 1,987 Member
    Options
    Make sure you have proper fitting shoes.